Australia/Israel & Jewish Affairs Council

Media Contacts

YOU ARE IN: Home Page > Resources > Media Contacts

Contacts for interviews and further information:

For additional assistance with these contacts, please call our office on 03 9681 6660


AIJAC:


Colin Rubenstein
- (03) 9681 6660, crubenstein@aijac.org.au
- Israel, wider Middle East, Islamic extremism, terrorism, antisemitism, Jewish affairs, multiculturalism

Jeremy Jones
- (02) 9360 5415, jjones@aijac.org.au
- Israel, Islamic extremism, antisemitism, Jewish affairs, multiculturalism, inter-faith dialogue

Tzvi Fleischer
- (03) 9681 6660, tfleischer@aijac.org.au
- Israel, wider Middle East, Islamic extremism, terrorism, media bias

 

External:

ISRAEL
(Be aware that the time in Israel is 8-9 hours earlier than Australian Eastern Standard Time.)

Ehud Yaari
Palestinian and Arab Affairs Analyst
E-mail: yaari2@netvision.net.il
Arab Affairs report
Channel 2
Phone: (972)-2-533-9900

Professor Barry Rubin
Arab and Palestinian Politics Specialist
Email: profbarryrubin@yahoo.com
Director - GLORIA Centre
Interdisciplinary Centre, Herzliya
Phone: 972-9-960-2736

Shlomo Avineri
Professor of Political Science
Hebrew University
Phone: (972)-2-588-3009
E-mail: euroavi@mscc.huji.ac.il

Dr. Gerald Steinberg
Conflict Resolution Specialist
Professor of Political Science, Director of the Program on Conflict Resolution
Director - NGO Monitor
Bar Ilan University
Phone: (972)-3-531-8043
Email: steing@mail.biu.ac.il

Efraim Inbar
Strategic Analyst
Professor of Political Studies and Director of the BESA Centre for Strategic Studies
Bar-Ilan University
Phone: (972)-3-535-9198
Email: inbare@mail.biu.ac.il

Dore Gold
Former Security Analyst and UN Ambassador
Jerusalem Centre for Public Affairs
Phone (972)-2-561-9281/3
Email: doregold@galanet.net

Amotz Asa-El
Veteran Journalist and Editor
8 Yisrael Eldad Street
Jerusalem, 93399 ISRAEL
E-mail: aasael@013.net.il
Tel: 972-2-672-0762

Yossi Klein Halevi
Journalist and author with broad expertise on Israeli society
Shalem Institute
Phone (972)-2-566-0601
E-mail: khalevi2@netvision.net.il


If you need additional contacts including mobile numbers, please do not hesitate to call or e-mail us.


GENERAL MIDDLE EAST

Dr. Daniel Pipes
Middle East politics, Islamic extremism
– Director, the Middle East Forum and Publisher, the Middle East Quarterly
Phone: 1-215-681-4848 (w)
Email: meqmef@aol.com

Prof. Fouad Ajami
Middle East Politics, Prospects for Democratisation
– Majid Khadduri Professor and Director of Middle East Studies, Johns Hopkins University
Phone: 1-202-663-5677

Mr. Amir Taheri
General Middle East Politics
– Iranian-born award-winning journalist, editor and author, with excellent contacts throughout the Middle East. Currently editor of Politique Internationale.
Phone: via either Politique Internationale (01-45-008183) or Benador Associates 1-917-626-1266.

Professor Efraim Karsh
Twentieth Century Middle East History
– Director, School of Mediterranean Studies, Kings College, University of London
Phone: (44 20) 7848 2325
Email: efraim.karsh@kcl.ac.uk

David Pryce-Jones
Prospects of Middle East Democracy
– widely published journalist and author on Middle Eastern affairs, wrote The Closed Circle: An Interpretation of the Arabs
Email: CSPJ@aol.com


TERRORISM AND ISLAMISM

Dr. Martin Kramer
Islam and terrorism
– Senior Research Fellow at the Moshe Dayan Center for Middle Eastern and African Studies, Tel Aviv University
Email: kramerm@ccsg.tau.ac.il

Dr. Matthew Levitt
Terrorism, Al-Qaeda
– Senior Research Fellow at The Washington Institute for Near East Policy
Phone: 1-202-452-0650
Email: mattl@washingtoninstitute.org

 

IRAQ / IRAN

Dr. Patrick Clawson
Iraq and Iran and US policy
– Director of Research, Washington Institute for Near East Policy
Phone: 1 202 452 0650
Email: patrick@washingtoninstitute.org

Professor Amatzia Baram
Iraqi Politics and Society
– Professor of Middle East History, Haifa University
Email: baram@research.haifa.ac.il

Dr. Ofra Bengio
Iraqi politics
– Senior Research Fellow at the Moshe Dayan Center for Middle Eastern and African Studies. Tel Aviv University
Phone: 972-3-640-9646
Email: bengio@ccsg.tau.ac.il

Dr Michael Eisenstadt

Iraq and Iran and US policy
– Senior Research Fellow, Washington Institute for Near East Policy
Phone: 202-452-0650
Email: michaele@washingtoninstitute.org